Author Topic: Too many practices  (Read 13188 times)

DharmaDefender

Re: Too many practices
« Reply #15 on: June 22, 2011, 06:21:25 PM »
From what I have been told, i have to create the cause for the right guru to appear for me too, so I am studying at my own pace, and there's lots of information online. Of course this is one of my favourite websites!

I do feel a distinct draw to the east - so maybe I will go to India and check out Shar Gaden and Serpom Monasteries. I have considered going to the Trijang institute too. I'm saving like mad at the moment but i do believe my opportunity will come as long as i work for it.

Well then goes to reason (Im all about the reason), if you have to create the causes for the right guru, then what you do this in this lifetime counts for your next life too. So when people try to get me to badmouth teachers, sorry mate but Im not willing to end up a cockroach in a lama's room, close to him but unable to receive the Dharma because of my attachments!!

WB, take me with?

G.

Damian.D

« Reply #16 on: June 27, 2011, 04:58:15 PM »
Yes I too am drawn to the east... I don't know why, but mysterious East is soo much more rich and lively and the wild west. There is a sense of spirituality just by the name and the cultures in that part of the world. A history that has asked the questions of the mind rather than using the mind for pleasure / attachment pursuits portrayed throughout history in the West.

Take me too, Nepal, India, Tibet, China, Japan, Taiwan, South East Asia, Sri Lanka.

One day soon please, I hope and pray.

Ensapa

• Email
« Reply #17 on: June 28, 2011, 11:30:30 AM »
I think the best way to get a Guru is to create the causes for it by:

1) not disparaging the teachers of others

and

2) whatever advice that has been received by a spiritual friend practice that...

Doing the prayer Calling the Lama From Afar by Pabongkha is also VERY powerful...Thats how i met my current precious Lama.

Dondrup Shugden