Author Topic: Geshe Rabten and Dorje Shugden  (Read 14991 times)

hope rainbow

Geshe Rabten and Dorje Shugden
« on: August 03, 2010, 04:43:37 AM »
Quotation from:
Dalai Lama - Dorje Shugden by Helmut Gassner
Hamburg, on March 26th 1999
Full text can be found at:
http://www.dorjeshugden.com/articles/HelmutGassner01.pdf

(QUOTE)
After Geshe Rabten escaped from Tibet, the Dalai Lama chose him and Lati Rinpoche from among a select group of candidates to become one of his advisers on philosophical issues.
Upon the Dalai Lama's express wish, Geshe came to Switzerland as Abbot of Rikon Monastery, near Winterthur.
After I graduated from the Institute of Technology, I moved to Rikon to learn Tibetan and to study Buddhist philosophy, debate and meditation under Geshe's guidance.
In 1978, Geshe Rabten was invited by a group of Geshe Zopa, a Tibetan who teaches at the University of Wisconsin at Madison, and to my great joy, I was allowed to accompany Geshe.
At that conference there was another most impressive Lama from India, Zong Rinpoche, also giving teachings and initiations.
It was from him I received, together with two other people, Dorje Shugden empowerment.
I had never heard of Dorje Shugden before, even though I was studying Buddhism intensively and making good progress with my Tibetan.
After the empowerment, Geshe gave us some words of advice.
He said, "This manifestation of the Buddha has no equal. If you are determined to tame your mind, then he will even give you his heart in order to help you."

(END OF QUOTE)

See this link for more biographic info on Geshe Rabten.
http://www.dorjeshugden.com/articles/GesheRabtenRinpoche.pdf
I have extracted the following from the above link:

(QUOTE)
When Geshe passed away in 1986, his pupils were able to experience the extraordinary signs of a complete master passing away.
During the months after his death, many students had the feeling that during their meditation Geshe was unusually close to them.